Vegetable-tastic

Daniel has proclaimed tonight’s dinner to be the best one of French month so far. I am pleased because I was trying something a little different, kind of!
So Daniel LOVES enchiladas which, obviously not very French, so when I found a Raymond Blanc recipe for pancakes with spinach and cream (http://www.raymondblanc.com/recipes/baked-pancakes-with-spinach-cream-gruyère.aspx) I couldn’t resist!! He said in the recipe that you could add a slice of ham per pancake which, seen as Daniel loves his meat I did it, well a half slice anyway.
I prepared most of the food during the day, I made the pancakes and the filling and filled them, leaving them in the pan for when we got back from squash. I also realised that I really need to make some more proper desserts. As yet I have been a little lacking in that department so today I went for Reine de Saba (http://www.easy-french-food.com/chocolate-almond-cake.html) a chocolate and almond cake. It seemed really interesting as it doesn’t have any real raising agents in it, just the stiffly beaten egg whites. So I baked it for 20 mins just which left me just enough time to get it out before we had to leave to go and play squash. Unfortunately the oven hadn’t had time to warm up properly so when I had to leave it hadn’t quite finished so I did the only thing I could think of, I turned off the oven and put the cake right down at the bottom hoping that by the time we got back in an hour and a half it would be done and it was, on the whole. It turned out a little like brownie in the end though so Daniel was even happier!! And the texture of the cake and the hint of almonds was lovely.
So all in all I’m loving French month and so far I think France has taught me that the key to a good meal is the sauce.
So good night and good luck. Happy cooking
Kate
Xxx

Published in: on July 12, 2011 at 7:37 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://katesyearinfood.wordpress.com/2011/07/12/vegetable-tastic/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment